Thought for Friday

Many of the current generation of students seem to be motivated by social concerns. Where once their energies might have gone into designing CD covers and identities for cultural institutions, it is now commonplace to find students investigating ways in which design can drive social change. For me, this is the biggest single difference between today’s graduates and those from past years.
Adrian Shaughnessy 

Adrian Shaughnessy

Adrian-Shaughnessy

The above quote by Adrian Shaughnessy comes from his post over on Design Week as guest blogger. I urge you to read it.

Coincidentally, I’m Adrian’s book, How to be a graphic designer without losing your soul at the moment. An excellent book and one I would recommend to any designer or student of design.

Adrian's book

Adrian's book

Speaking of Design Week. I noticed it’s demise as a printed publication was mention over on David’s blog and I hope he doesn’t mind me quoting him when he says: I’m surprised that the demise of Design Week as a printed publication appears to have attracted so little comment out here in the blogosphere. Though I must admit that it’s a publication that it’s hard to feel any real affection for. But it was, nevertheless, a core component of being a designer these past 30 years.

I couldn’t agree more. There was something ‘detached’ and possibly aloof about Design Week. Nonetheless, it is a pity that there is no real substitute and in many ways I will miss it. I don’t believe it can survive in electronic form for long but I could be wrong. I will certainly read the free material on offer but I’m reluctant to pay for on-line content, especially when the likes of Design Observer exist.

Leave a comment

Filed under Design education, Thought for Friday

Leave a Reply

