Thought for Friday

 


Table tennis playing robot

Table tennis playing robot: Topio 3.0

Detective Del SpoonerHuman beings have dreams. Even dogs have dreams, but not you, you are just a machine. An imitation of life. Can a robot write a symphony? Can a robot turn a… canvas into a beautiful masterpiece? 

SonnyCan you? 

A wonderful quote from the film I Robot. As those who have been reading this blog for a while know well, I’ve a ‘soft spot’ for Robots, particularly the vintage tin variety. I stumbled on a wonderful index showing hundreds of designs and worth a browse for those who prefer their robots to look less formidable than our tennis playing friend above. There’s also this online catalogue from Jesters.

Horikawa Star Strider Robot

Horikawa Star Strider Robot

For those who want to be more creative try here (via Swissmiss).

2 Comments

Filed under Robots, Thought for Friday

2 responses to “Thought for Friday

  1. insertsuggestion

    You know I think your blog is making my robot fetish worse … though I did manage to go to a toy exhibit in Prague and avaoid buying one of their glorious robot offerings. I’ll post the photographs of the robots I took soon and you can browse hundreds of these things in all their glory!

  2. I look forward to seeing them.

Leave a Reply

