A box of old cameras No.4: Olympus Trip 35

Olympus Trip 35

Olympus Trip 35

The Trip 35 is a 35mm compact camera, manufactured by Olympus and was introduced in 1967 and discontinued, after a lengthy production run, in 1984. The Trip name was a reference to its intended market — people who wanted a compact, functional camera for holidays. During the 1970s it was the subject of an advertising campaign that featured popular British photographer David Bailey. Over ten million units were sold.

An elegant and simple design

An elegant and simple design

I can’t remember when I bought my Trip 35, most likely back in the 70s. This model has the black shutter release button and not the snazzy and somewhat less common chrome version that came with the earlier models.

I had recently landed my first design job with the graphics department of a local authority. With a regular income coming in (at last) felt that I could splash out on a new camera. I wanted a compact, but something better than an ‘instamatic‘ and the Olympus Trip fitted the bill.

Rear view

Rear view

Lighter and smaller than my Praktica the trip offered me the ideal mix of a quality 35mm with a decent lens and some manual control. My old Praktica was brilliant and I had taken it to Paris when I was a student, but this was a bulky and heavy camera to lug about all day. The trip turned out to be the perfect solution on a trip to Amsterdam, back in the days when that was a cheap destination.

I suppose from the on it became my favourite camera right up until the digital era.

For those who want to see what this little camera can do try this Flickr group.

Leave a comment

Filed under A box of old cameras, Photography

Leave a Reply

